jump to navigation

Running With Plantar Fasciitis January 20, 2007

Posted by Lisa Sabin in boston marathon, Fitness Goals, Injury Prevention, Plantar Fasciitis, running.
trackback

I’ve been a dedicated runner since 1994. My mileage has ranged between 15-50 miles per week. However, I usually fall into the 20-25 miles per week range. I have suffered from plantar fasciitis off and on throughout my “running career”.

Plantar fasciitis is an inflammation of the plantar fascia. The plantar fascia is connective tissue that runs along the bottom of the foot and assists in maintaining stability of the foot and arch. The tension on the plantar fascia is increased during the push-off phase in running.

The symptoms of plantar fasciitis are pain in the heel. The pain is increased in the morning when I get up or after a long period of sitting. The pain decreases after the first few steps, after I warm up a bit and stretch.

When I run, it’s painful for the first few minutes and then I don’t notice it. I guess that’s why I’ve been able to keep running. The problem is that I need to get to the underlying cause if I am going to do another marathon. The danger is I could develop a heel spur, which would take an even longer recovery period. You know how much I hate taking time off. I gotta run, so I need to get to the bottom of this!

I have worn orthodics in the past and then found that the problem went away with trying different shoes. I have been wearing the Asics Gel Kayano’s, you know the expensive $135 ones? They worked for a while, I really loved the cushy feeling.

Apparently, your body changes and shoes that worked in the past may not work the same in the future. Sometimes the manufacturers alter the shoes. Slight differences in the runner or the construction of the shoes can make a difference.

Long story short….

I met with a physical therapist yesterday and she said “Neither of my feet are bad as far as pronation goes, the problem is that they are different. For some reason the arch on the left foot is higher and the muscles in the left foot are not as developed.” Her strategy for me is to reduce the inflammation by using ultra-sound and hydro-cortizone cream. Next we will start doing exercises that specifically work on increasing the strength on the left foot to balance with the right. I also need to get some new orthodics.

The good news is I have a clearer idea of what’s going on. I also have a plan for action. The next thing to do is find a podiatrist in Seattle that takes Premera Blue Cross insurance. Know anyone?

Comments»

1. Trigger Points and Plantar Fasciitis « Boston Marathon or Bust! - April 22, 2007

[…] right leg, I was able to lift it without any compensation on the left. I have been struggling with plantar fasciitis on my left […]

2. steven_it - November 27, 2007

Hi,
I’m guessing if spinbiking can be a source of trigger points
Thanks

3. fredsal6 - November 25, 2008

Plantar Fasciitis is a painful inflammatory condition causing heel pain and in some people, heel spurs. It can also result in arch pain. Plantar Fasciitis is often caused by abnormal pronation of the foot and improper arch support. Contributing factors are weight gain, intense physical activity, jobs that require a lot of walking or standing on hard surfaces, or shoes with poor arch support.

Research has found that a combination of proper exercises and arch support by wearing orthotic insoles can provide effective relief for plantar fasciitis.

Here’s more information on plantar fasciitis


Leave a comment